This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

NEW BRUNSWICK HERITAGE WEEK

 

Honourable Senators, this week is New Brunswick Heritage Week. Forgive me if I am prejudiced, but I believe that New Brunswick is the most beautiful province in Canada, having a rich heritage that began long before Confederation. For instance, Chaleur Bay in northern New Brunswick still carries the name that Jacques Cartier gave it in 1534. When Cartier arrived, the land was already peopled by the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet nations. Our first European settlement was established by Samuel de Champlain on Saint Croix Island in 1604. Sadly, these first settlers were not prepared for the privations of the Canadian climate and many died from cold and hunger.

The Acadian settlers would be much more successful.

They established farms built on land reclaimed from wetlands with a series of dikes.

Many of these dikes can still be seen today in the Tantramar Marshes.

With its rich forests, bountiful farmland and calm harbours, New Brunswick prospered. Many of our towns were established well before the province was officially founded in 1784. There is a great sense of history in all our towns; many are very old with rich histories.

This year, Sackville is celebrating its two hundred and fiftieth anniversary. Sackville was a thriving town when Washington existed only on paper. Over the years, the people of Sackville were involved in events that shaped Canada's history.

In 1776, during the American Revolution, a local militia unit repelled a force of American invaders at Fort Cumberland. Christopher Harper, an ancestor of our Prime Minister, was part of that defending militia. Without these militiamen, Nova Scotia, which included New Brunswick, might have become the fourteenth colony of the United States.

Sackville was a thriving shipbuilding port for many years. Today it is home to Mount Allison University and was named the Cultural Capital of Canada in 2008.

Many notable people have called Sackville home, and I will name a few: Grace Lockhart, the first woman in Canada to receive a university degree, from Mount Allison University; John Peters Humphrey, author of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; George Stanley, who designed the Canadian flag, and our honoured Canadian artist, Alex Colville.

This year, Sackville will host a year-long birthday celebration, and I invite all honourable senators to come and share the fun.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

LA SEMAINE DU PATRIMOINE DU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK

 

Honorables sénateurs, cette semaine, nous célébrons la Semaine du patrimoine du Nouveau- Brunswick. Pardonnez mon parti pris, mais je suis convaincue que le Nouveau-Brunswick est la plus belle province du Canada, grâce à sa riche histoire qui a commencé bien avant la Confédération. Par exemple, la baie des Chaleurs, dans le Nord du Nouveau- Brunswick, porte encore le nom que Jacques Cartier lui a donné en 1534. À l'arrivée de Cartier, le territoire était peuplé par les Micmacs et les Malécites. Samuel de Champlain a fondé la première colonie européenne sur l'Île-Sainte-Croix en 1604. Malheureusement, ces premiers colons étaient mal préparés pour faire face aux rigueurs du climat canadien; plusieurs sont morts de froid et de faim.

Les colons acadiens connurent beaucoup plus de succès.

Ils bâtirent des fermes sur des terres marécageuses qu'ils ont asséchées à l'aide de digues.

On peut voir, aujourd'hui encore, plusieurs de ces digues dans les marais de Tantramar.

Grâce à ses forêts luxuriantes, ses terres agricoles fertiles et ses ports tranquilles, le Nouveau-Brunswick s'est développé. De nombreuses villes ont été établies avant que la province ne soit officiellement fondée, en 1784. Dans chacune d'elles, on sent l'empreinte du passé, et nombreuses sont celles qui ont une longue et riche histoire.

Cette année, Sackville, qui prospérait déjà à une époque où Washington n'existait que sur papier, célébrera son 250eanniversaire. Au fil des années, les habitants de Sackville ont pris part à des événements qui ont forgé l'histoire du Canada.

En 1776, durant la Révolution américaine, une unité de milice locale a repoussé une unité de soldats américains qui tentait d'assiéger le fort Cumberland. Christopher Harper, un ancêtre de notre premier ministre, faisait partie des défenseurs. Sans ces miliciens, la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui englobait alors le Nouveau- Brunswick, serait peut-être devenue la 14colonie des États-Unis.

Sackville fut une ville portuaire et un chantier naval prospère pendant de nombreuses années. De nos jours, on trouve l'Université Mount Allison dans cette ville, qui a été nommée Capitale culturelle du Canada en 2008.

De nombreuses personnes remarquables ont vécu à Sackville. En voici quelques-unes : Mme Grace Lockhart, la première Canadienne à recevoir un diplôme universitaire, décerné par l'Université Mount Allison; John Peters Humphrey, l'auteur de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme; George Stanley, qui a créé le drapeau canadien et, enfin, l'illustre artiste-peintre canadien Alex Colville.

En 2012, Sackville célébrera toute l'année l'anniversaire de sa fondation, et j'invite tous les sénateurs à se joindre aux festivités.