This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

PARKS CANADA : ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY

 

Honourable Senators, today I would like to highlight the one hundredth anniversary of Parks Canada.

Through a network of 42 national parks and 167 national historic sites, as well as four national marine conservation sites, Parks Canada works hard to ensure that Canada's historical and natural heritage is preserved.

Established in 1911 as the Dominion Parks Branch, Parks Canada was the world's first national service dedicated to the protection of national parks and historic sites.

Honourable senators, Canada is a world leader in protecting and preserving treasured natural and historic places.

Parks Canada is working on developing programs that encourage all Canadians to take advantage of our parks.

Over the weekend, I had the pleasure of participating in one such program. "Learn to Camp" is a national program where Parks Canada teams up with Mountain Equipment Co-op to teach new Canadians the basics of camping. Families learned skills such as how to cook outdoors, how to set up a tent and how to enjoy campfires — all under the expert supervision of qualified guides.

This program was designed to help new Canadians learn about the joys of camping and to encourage them to take advantage of our great national parks.

The event took place at Fort Beausejour, on the beautiful Tantramar Marsh, in an area that Acadians called "Beaubassin" or beautiful basin.

The first Acadian settlers transformed the region into a beautiful and productive spot. In the 18th century, Acadian settlers built dikes in the marshes, to block salt water from the Atlantic Ocean and to create a prosperous agricultural area with rich, sedimentary soil.

This area is host to many rare and endangered birds. The place name, Tantramar, derives from the Acadian French "tintamarere," which some say refers to the loud noises of the flocks of birds living there.

Canada's system of national parks and national marine conservation areas has expanded exponentially in the past couple of years. The excellence of our parks system, under the care of Parks Canada, has resulted in the World Wildlife Fund awarding Parks Canada the prestigious Gift to the Earth award. The award is their highest accolade for conservation work of outstanding merit.

Honourable Senators, our national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas are places of profound importance and great treasures for our country. The heritage and landscape of these special places are witnesses to many of our defining moments and each tell a unique story.

We are all responsible for protecting and preserving this precious resource.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

PARCS CANADA : LE CENTIEME ANNIVERSAIRE

 

Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais souligner aujourd'hui le centenaire de Parcs Canada.

Grâce son réseau comptant 42 parcs nationaux, 167 lieux historiques nationaux et quatre aires marines nationales de conservation, Parcs Canada ne ménage aucun effort pour préserver le patrimoine historique et naturel du Canada.

Créée en 1911 sous l'appellation « Division des parcs du Dominion », l'Agence Parcs Canada a été le premier service national du monde à se consacrer exclusivement à la protection des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques.

Honorable sénateurs, le Canada est un chef de file mondial en ce qui concerne la protection et la préservation de nos merveilleux lieux historiques et naturels.

Parcs Canada s'efforce de développer des programmes qui incitent tous les Canadiens à profiter de nos parcs.

En fin de semaine, j'ai justement eu le plaisir de participer à l'un de ces programmes, appelé « Expériences d'initiation au camping ». Ce programme national, réalisé en collaboration avec Mountain Equipment Co-op, enseigne les rudiments du camping aux néo-Canadiens. Les familles participantes peuvent y apprendre toutes sortes de choses, comme faire la cuisine en plein-air, monter une tente et s'amuser autour d'un feu de camp — le tout sous la supervision attentive de guides qualifiés.

Ce programme a été conçu pour les néo-Canadiens afin qu'ils puissent connaître les joies du camping et profiter de nos grands parcs nationaux.

Cette activité avait lieu au Fort Beauséjour, sur le magnifique marais Tantramar, dans la région que les Acadiens appellent Beaubassin.

Les premiers colons acadiens ont transformé la région en un endroit magnifique, certes, mais productif également. Au XVIIIe siècle, les colons acadiens ont construit des digues dans les marais afin de bloquer l'eau salée de l'océan Atlantique et de créer une zone agricole prospère avec un sol sédimentaire riche.

On y trouve de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux rares ou menacées d'extinction. Le nom Tantramar vient en fait du franco-acadien « tintamarre », qui, selon certains, ferait référence au bruit assourdissant que font les oiseaux qui vivent dans les alentours du marais.

Le réseau canadien de parcs nationaux et d'aires marines nationales de conservation a pris beaucoup d'ampleur depuis quelques années. C'est pour l'excellence du réseau, qui est confié aux bons soins de Parcs Canada, que le World Wildlife Fund a décerné le prestigieux prix Don à la Terre à Parcs Canada. Ce prix, qui souligne la valeur d'un projet de conservation particulièrement méritoire, est la plus haute distinction décernée par le WWF.

Honorables sénateurs, nos lieux historiques nationaux, nos parcs nationaux et nos aires marines nationales de conservation constituent autant de trésors fabuleux d'une grande importance pour le pays. Ces endroits, avec leur patrimoine et leurs paysages, ont été les témoins de bien des moments formateurs de notre histoire, et chacun d'eux nous raconte une histoire qui lui est propre.

Il nous incombe à tous de protéger et de préserver cette ressource précieuse.