This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

THE LATE SERGEANT ANDREW JOSEPH DOIRON

Honourable senators, it is with a heavy heart that I rise today to acknowledge the loss of one of New Brunswick's sons.

Sergeant Andrew Doiron, or Drew, as he is known by his friends, was a native of Moncton and a distinguished soldier in our Canadian Special Operations Regiment. He died in the line of duty last Friday in Northern Iraq.

He is our first loss in the ongoing mission in Iraq, and as such, his sacrifice holds a special significance in our ongoing fight against terrorism.

Our soldiers bravely support the Kurdish Peshmerga, who are holding the line against the armies of ISIS.

Like his comrades in generations past, Sergeant Doiron took up arms to defend those who cannot defend themselves. His friends and comrades describe him as a soldier, a warrior and a consummate professional. He was very proud of what he did.

He joined in 2002 and served with the Princess Pats and three terms in Afghanistan. That's just a small portion of his military service for our country.

He loved his family, he loved his job, and he had a great relationship with everyone around him.

In my previous career, I had the opportunity to interact with many of the men in our special forces. I know how hard they work, and I have nothing but the highest appreciation for the dedication they show in their struggle to protect Canada from threats that we do not always know about or understand.

As I have noted here before, I do not view our veterans as a partisan issue. Our soldiers serve all Canadians, and in a time of loss like this, it is our job, our only job, as senators to come together as one to honour their sacrifice and support those who remain.

In closing, I would like to thank Sergeant Doiron's family for giving him to us to remain forever one of Canada's immortal sons. We bring him home in dignity, with all the honour our country can give, and lay him silently to a hero's rest.

Thank you, senators.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

LE DECES DU SERGENT ANDREW JOSEPH DOIRON

Honorables sénateurs, c'est le cœur lourd que je prends aujourd'hui la parole pour souligner la perte de l'un des fils du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le sergent Andrew Doiron, ou Drew, comme ses amis l'appelaient, était né à Moncton. Il était un valeureux soldat du Régiment d'opérations spéciales du Canada. Il est mort en service vendredi dernier, dans le Nord de l'Irak.

En tant que premier militaire canadien décédé dans le cadre de notre actuelle mission en Irak, son sacrifice revêt une importance particulière dans notre lutte incessante contre le terrorisme.

Nos militaires appuient courageusement les peshmergas kurdes, qui protègent la ligne de front contre les troupes de l'EIIS.

Tout comme ses camarades des générations précédentes, le sergent Doiron a pris les armes pour défendre ceux qui ne peuvent se défendre eux-mêmes. Ses amis et camarades le décrivent comme un soldat, un guerrier et un véritable professionnel. Il était très fier de ce qu'il faisait.

Il s'est enrôlé en 2002 et a servi au sein du Princess Pat. Il a effectué trois périodes de service en Afghanistan. Voilà une infime portion de sa carrière militaire au service de notre pays.

Il adorait sa famille et son travail, et il avait d'excellentes relations avec tous ceux qui l'entouraient.

Dans ma carrière précédente, j'ai eu l'occasion de m'entretenir avec plusieurs des hommes des forces spéciales. Je sais à quel point ils travaillent dur et je n'ai que la plus grande reconnaissance pour le dévouement dont ils font preuve dans leur lutte pour protéger le Canada de menaces que nous ne connaissons ou ne comprenons pas toujours.

Comme je l'ai déjà mentionné ici, je ne vois pas la question des anciens combattants comme une question partisane. Nos soldats sont au service de tous les Canadiens et, lors d'une telle perte, il est de notre devoir, notre seul devoir, comme sénateurs de rendre hommage tous ensemble au sacrifice consenti et de soutenir ceux qui restent.

En terminant, j'aimerais remercier la famille du sergent Doiron d'avoir fait le sacrifice d'un être cher, qui restera éternellement un des fils immortels du Canada. Nous le ramenons au pays dans la dignité, avec toutes les marques d'honneur que notre pays puisse lui donner, et nous le conduirons, dans le recueillement, à son dernier repos.

Merci, sénateurs.