This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

BILL S-214 : CRUELTY FREE COSMETICS ACT (SECOND READING)

Honourable senators I am pleased to rise today and move second reading of Bill S-214, the cruelty-free cosmetics act.

The intention behind this act is to end, in Canada, the use of testing on animals for cosmetics purposes and the sale of cosmetics which have been developed or manufactured using animal testing.

The cruelty-free cosmetics act achieves this goal by amending sections 16 and 18 of the Food and Drugs Act to add prohibitions on conducting animal testing in Canada and on using evidence derived from animal testing to establish the safety of cosmetics after this bill is passed.

Functionally, the cruelty-free cosmetics act adds new definitions to section 2 of the Food and Drugs Act to set out exactly what "animal testing" and "cosmetic animal testing" mean for the narrow focus of this legislation before us.

Testing cosmetics on animals is a cruel practice and harkens back to the industrial environment of the mid-20th century. Many of the tests on animals conducted today were developed in the 1940s, an era when our understanding of how chemicals interact with the human body was very basic. Science and technology have advanced considerably since those days, but in the 21st century, nearly 200,000 animals still suffer and die every year in the name of cosmetics and beauty products.

The types of testing conducted on animals vary depending on the type of product a company wishes to market. Typically, testing for cosmetics purposes involves rubbing chemicals on the shaved skin of an animal or dripping substances into their eyes to examine the kind of irritation it causes.

Some tests involve repeatedly force-feeding chemicals to animals to examine the long-term effects of exposure. In other cases, animals are forced to swallow massive amounts of a substance in order to determine how much it takes to kill them. Colleagues, as you can imagine, these tests cause pain and distress to animals, who in many cases are offered no relief until they are euthanized at the end of testing.

Animal testing is no longer the only route to determine the safety of a product. Companies now have many alternative choices, since more than 40 non-animal tests have been validated for use, and more are emerging every year.

These modern alternatives offer the latest in science and technology and in many cases are better at determining how humans react to a chemical or a substance than animal-based tests from the last century. Labs are now able to grow human skin and use it to test for irritability, or we can now harvest living corneal material from slaughterhouses to test for eye corrosion. Other tests use advanced computer models to simulate the effect of chemicals and substances on the whole body or relate the data harvested from testing living human cell cultures.

Some in the cosmetics industry are concerned that in rare cases, animal testing may be required to evaluate the safety of a product.

The cruelty-free cosmetics act addresses the concerns of the cosmetics industry in section 5, by providing the health minister with authority, under section 18.2 of the Food and Drugs Act, to authorize animal testing when there are there is no alternative to evaluate a product or ingredient when there are substantiated human health concerns.

To help the minister apply the exemption in section 5 of the cruelty-free cosmetics act in a consistent manner, I have proposed to clarify the authority of the health minister by authorizing animal testing only in the case of products or ingredients that are already widely used and cannot be replaced by something else.

The Canadian public agrees that it is time for animal testing to end. Polling done in the past has indicated that more than 81 per cent of Canadians support a national sales ban on cosmetics and ingredients that have been tested on animals. Nearly 100,000 Canadians have already signed the #BeCrueltyFree petition, and it is clear that the issue of animal testing has touched the minds and hearts of many Canadians.

Being mindful of the public interest, the cruelty-free cosmetics act amends section 18.2(2) of the Food and Drugs Act to allow for a period of public consultation before any authorization for animal testing is issued under the exception clause I have established in section 5 of the act.

To be clear, nothing is being established here to limit the government in any way. I have constructed my legislation with a mind to helping the government end animal testing and to do so in a responsible way.

One issue that became clear during my consultations with the cosmetics industry is that there seems to be a legislative and regulatory issue within the Food and Drugs Act regarding the differences between cosmetics and health products.

Unlike in the European Union, the definition of "cosmetics" found in the Food and Drugs Act is quite narrow. Any product which makes "a therapeutic claim," as defined in the act, can be classified as either a drug or a natural health product, depending on the nature of its ingredients. Products seen by the average Canadian as cosmetics are often not regulated as such by the government. The common example the industry uses when illustrating this is comparing lipstick. Some lipsticks are regulated as drugs and others as cosmetics.

I've studied these concerns and understand they may raise a regulatory problem in the application of the cruelty-free cosmetics act. To deal with this issue, I have included a clause amending section 18.3 of the Food and Drugs Act, giving the government authority to designate, by regulation, drugs to be treated as cosmetics for the purposes of the prohibitions in the act.

The scope of this act is intentionally narrow, or rather, intentionally focused on achieving the end of animal testing in Canada. The type of amendment required to entirely eliminate the definitional issue between cosmetics, drugs and natural health products would be a broad policy change, more appropriately included in government legislation.

The cruelty-free cosmetics act is a response to the desire of many Canadians to end a practice they find disturbing. Canadian society has moved beyond accepting as a given the necessity of torturing animals for beauty products.

Canadians are concerned about the health and welfare of animals and are troubled that in the 21st century companies still engage in testing practices developed before the Second World War. With the level of science and technology available today, most Canadians do not find it necessary to conduct animal testing anymore, and the legislation before us would help accomplish this goal.

The debate on animal testing is nothing new. Parliamentarians have been discussing regulating how we should treat animals since long before Confederation. One of the first laws dealing specifically with regulating the treatment of animals used for scientific research was the United Kingdom's Cruelty to Animals Act of 1876. Charles Darwin was a famous proponent of this act, noting in a letter: "I quite agree that it is justifiable for real investigations on physiology; but not for mere . . . detestable curiosity."

The Cruelty to Animals Act of 1876 created an offence for researchers who conducted experiments outside the scope of the overriding principle that experiments which inflict pain should occur only when ". . . the proposed experiments are absolutely necessary for the due instruction of the persons . . . for saving or prolonging [human] life . . . ."

Canada's legislative record on animal testing is more complicated than those of other countries. There's no clear statement on animal testing in Canada at the federal level other than permitting its use under the regulations attached to the Food and Drugs Act and the Canadian Environmental Protection Act. However, part of the animal welfare aspect of the issue of animal testing is dealt with in the Criminal Code, and that is "causing unnecessary suffering to animals" and "causing damage or injury to animals by willful neglect," which are offences under sections 445.1 and 446 of the Criminal Code. The protections these sections offer in the scientific setting are limited. In Reece v. Edmonton (2011), the judge noted:

. . . it must be conceded that the basic animal welfare model still involves attempting to balance animal pain against human need or pleasure. This approach is reflected in a number of areas: economic, . . . scientific . . . and social . . . . Whether and in what circumstances the balancing of competing values should be re-calibrated . . . is largely a question for the Legislature.

Provincially, all our provinces and territories have legislation which generally applies to animal welfare. Some of their laws are stronger than others and specifically address research activities directly, as Quebec does in section 55.9.15 of the Animal Health Protection Act and Nova Scotia does in section 2.1 of its Animal Protection Act. Other provinces refer to codes of conduct or standards to be respected, as in section 2 of Alberta's Animal Protection Regulation, which refers to documents from the Canadian Council on Animal Care.

Our provinces are moving forward to protect our animals. It is time for the federal government to take leadership at the federal level and adopt the cruelty-free cosmetics act, as well as encourage the provinces to strengthen their legislation to prevent unnecessary cruelty to animals.

While Canada has lagged behind in this issue, our closest trading allies and trading partners, the European Union, Israel, India, New Zealand and Turkey have moved to enact full or partial sales and marketing bans for the products which have been produced through animal testing. The European Union's 2013 Cosmetics Regulation and previously their 2003 cosmetics directive are seen as models for responsibly ending the practice of animal testing. As of now, the EU sales ban is in force in 28 countries, representing the world's largest market for beauty products.

Many countries are in the process of adopting legislation or regulations like the measures contained in the proposed "Cruelty Free Cosmetics Act." The United States Congress is debating HR 2858, the proposed "Humane Cosmetics Act," which was introduced with bipartisan support in June 2015.

The "Humane Cosmetics Act" would establish a prohibition on testing cosmetics on animals and a ban on selling or transporting any product in the Unites States if it has been developed or manufactured using animal testing.

In Canada, happily we are told very little animal testing actually occurs. Our cosmetics industry should be commended for moving forward towards eliminating this backward practice. Representatives from the cosmetics industry have informed me that our industry is committed to the elimination of animal testing as alternative methods are developed, validated and accepted by Health Canada.

Currently, more than 99 per cent of all safety evaluations related to cosmetics products or their ingredients are now being conducted without animal testing as the Canadian industry has adopted alternative testing methods for assessing skin and eye irritation, dermal penetration and absorption, phototoxicity and genotoxicity.

For the most part, the Canadian cosmetics industry is heavily weighted toward importing products rather than producing them. The United States is our main trading partner but we are importing increasing amounts from the European Union. With the restrictions in place in the EU, we face a market access barrier when it comes to Canadian products or ingredients which use animal-tested substances. If the United States adopts the "Humane Cosmetics Act," Canada would be at a significant disadvantage and could find itself in the undesirable position where our country becomes a hub for animal testing.

Senators, it is clear the cosmetics industry worldwide is moving forward in a cruelty-free direction. Many of North America's best-known brands have successfully marketed their products without the need to conduct animal testing. Companies like LUSH, H&M, Paul Mitchell and Urban Decay have taken strong stances against animal testing and have been actively supporting efforts to curb this practice in the broader North American industry.

When the European Union enacted its ban, it was widely seen as an opportunity to update testing methods and innovation. Available cell-based and non-animal safety assessment methods are less expensive and less time consuming. Companies that continue to use animal testing risk a future of economic consequences as the world's industries move beyond this obsolete practice.

My personal approach has been to present this legislation as an incremental step towards improving the state of animal welfare in our country. The "Cruelty Free Cosmetics Act" is a starting point for a parliamentary debate about the humane treatment of animals in the 21st century. As a strong proponent for animal welfare, I truly believe this bill strikes a balance between protecting animals from backward practices and preserving the Canadian industry from undesirable market conditions.

Senators, we have before us an opportunity to modernize our country. The time has come for the Canadian government to step forward and take action to prohibit animal testing and bring Canada into the 21st century. It's our turn to be leaders on the world stage on an issue that has international ramifications for how we will be viewed in years to come.

Colleagues, I ask you to support the "Cruelty Free Cosmetics Act" and join me in making 2016 the year that Canada takes its first steps towards evolving into a cruelty-free economy.

Thank you, senators.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

PROJET DE LOI S-214: COSMETIQUES SANS CRUAUTE (DEUXIEME LECTURE)

Honorables sénateurs, je suis ravie de prendre la parole aujourd'hui et de proposer la deuxième lecture du projet de loi S- 214, Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté.

Cette loi vise à interdire au Canada les essais de cosmétiques sur les animaux et la vente de cosmétiques créés ou fabriqués par un procédé comportant des essais sur des animaux.

Dans cette optique, la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté modifie les articles 16 et 18 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues afin d'interdire les essais sur les animaux au Canada et l'utilisation de preuves découlant d'essais sur des animaux pour établir l'innocuité d'un cosmétique.

Concrètement, la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté ajoute deux définitions à l'article 2 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues afin de définir exactement les termes « essai sur des animaux » et « essai de cosmétiques sur des animaux » aux fins de la loi dont nous sommes saisis.

Les essais de cosmétiques sur des animaux sont une pratique cruelle qui remonte au contexte industriel du milieu du XXsiècle. Bien des essais auxquels les animaux sont soumis aujourd'hui ont été mis au point dans les années 1940, époque où nos connaissances des interactions entre les produits chimiques et le corps humain étaient rudimentaires. Les sciences et la technologie ont réalisé d'énormes progrès depuis lors, mais encore aujourd'hui, au XXIe siècle, près de 200 000 animaux par année vivent dans la souffrance avant d'être mis à mort au nom de l'industrie des cosmétiques et des produits de beauté.

Le type de test effectué sur les animaux dépend du type de produit qu'une société souhaite commercialiser. Ils consistent normalement à frotter des produits chimiques sur la peau rasée de l'animal ou à introduire des substances dans ses yeux afin d'observer le niveau d'irritation produite.

D'autres encore consistent à gaver un animal de produits chimiques à répétition afin d'évaluer les effets à long terme de l'exposition à ces produits. D'autres animaux sont obligés d'avaler un volume impressionnant d'une substance afin d'en déterminer la dose létale. Chers collègues, comme vous pouvez vous l'imaginer, ces tests provoquent souffrance et détresse chez les animaux, qui, dans bien des cas, n'ont de répit que lorsqu'ils sont euthanasiés à la conclusion des tests.

Il existe aujourd'hui d'autres moyens de déterminer la sûreté d'un produit. Les sociétés ont maintenant l'embarras du choix; en effet, plus d'une quarantaine de méthodes n'utilisant pas d'animaux ont été certifiées, et d'autres encore le sont tous les ans.

Ces solutions modernes reposent sur les plus récentes technologies et connaissances scientifiques et, dans bien des cas, sont de meilleurs prédicteurs des réactions humaines aux produits chimiques que les tests sur les animaux du siècle dernier. Les laboratoires peuvent maintenant cultiver de la peau humaine permettant de déterminer le degré d'irritation causé par un produit, tout comme il est possible de prélever dans les abattoirs du tissu cornéen vivant permettant de déterminer le potentiel de corrosion oculaire. D'autres tests font appel à des modèles informatiques perfectionnés qui permettent de simuler l'effet d'un produit chimique ou d'une substance sur l'ensemble du corps ou encore d'extrapoler les données produites par les tests effectués sur des cultures vivantes de cellules humaines.

Certains intervenants de l'industrie des cosmétiques sont inquiets, car dans de rares cas, il pourrait être nécessaire de faire des tests sur les animaux pour évaluer l'innocuité d'un produit.

L'article 5 de la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté aborde les préoccupations soulevées par l'industrie des cosmétiques. Il prévoit l'ajout, dans la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, de l'article 18.2, lequel confierait au ministre de la Santé le pouvoir d'autoriser les essais sur les animaux lorsqu'il n'existe aucun autre moyen de procéder à l'évaluation de problèmes spécifiques et avérés de santé humaine liés à un produit ou à un ingrédient donné.

Afin d'aider le ministre à appliquer uniformément les exemptions prévues à l'article 5 de la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté, j'ai proposé de préciser davantage les pouvoirs du ministre de la Santé afin qu'il puisse autoriser les essais seulement lorsqu'il est question d'un cosmétique ou de l'ingrédient d'un cosmétique dont l'utilisation est largement répandue et qui ne peut être remplacé par un autre cosmétique ou ingrédient d'un cosmétique.

La population canadienne convient que le moment est venu de mettre fin aux tests sur les animaux. Les résultats d'un sondage indiquent que plus de 81 p. 100 des Canadiens sont d'accord pour qu'on interdise partout au pays la vente de cosmétiques et d'ingrédients qui ont été testés sur des animaux. Près de 100 000 Canadiens ont déjà signé la pétition Non à la cruauté, et il est évident que les tests sur les animaux sont un enjeu qui préoccupe grandement de nombreux Canadiens.

La Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté, qui tient compte de l'intérêt de la population, modifie la Loi sur les aliments et drogues en y insérant le paragraphe 18.2(2) afin que des consultations publiques soient tenues avant qu'on émette une autorisation de mener des tests sur des animaux conformément à la clause d'exception que j'ai prévue à l'article 5.

Je tiens à ce que les choses soient claires : aucune des mesures proposées ne vise à limiter d'une quelconque façon les capacités du gouvernement. J'ai élaboré cette mesure législative pour aider le gouvernement à mettre fin aux tests sur les animaux et à le faire de manière responsable.

Pendant les consultations que j'ai menées auprès des représentants de l'industrie des cosmétiques, j'ai constaté qu'il semble y avoir un problème législatif et réglementaire lié à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, qui porte sur la différence entre les cosmétiques et les produits de santé.

Contrairement à l'Union européenne, la Loi sur les aliments et drogues donne une définition assez étroite du terme « cosmétique ». Tout produit censément « thérapeutique », au sens où l'entend la loi, peut être classé comme une drogue ou un produit de santé naturel, selon la nature des ingrédients qu'il contient. Il arrive souvent que les produits considérés par M. et Mme Tout-le-Monde comme des cosmétiques ne soient pas réglementés comme tels par le gouvernement. L'exemple typique dont l'industrie se sert pour illustrer cette réalité est le rouge à lèvres : certains rouges sont réglementés comme des médicaments, d'autres comme des cosmétiques.

J'ai étudié ces questions et je comprends qu'elles puissent susciter un problème de réglementation pour l'application de la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté. Pour y remédier, j'ai inclus dans mon projet de loi l'article 18.3, qui modifie la Loi sur les aliments et drogues en permettant au gouvernement d'assimiler, par règlement, toute drogue à un cosmétique aux fins des interdictions prévues dans la loi.

Cette mesure législative a une portée limitée, et c'est délibéré, car je l'ai délibérément centrée sur l'interdiction des essais sur les animaux au Canada. Les modifications nécessaires pour régler entièrement le problème de définition entourant les termes cosmétiques, drogues et produits de santé naturels constitueraient un changement de politique majeur pour lequel un projet de loi d'initiative ministérielle conviendrait mieux.

La Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté répond au désir de nombreux Canadiens de mettre fin à une pratique qu'ils jugent choquante. La société canadienne a cessé de tenir pour acquis qu'il fallait torturer des animaux pour mettre au point des produits de beauté.

Soucieux de la santé et du bien-être des animaux, les Canadiens trouvent inquiétant qu'au XXIe siècle, des entreprises recourent encore, pour leurs essais, à des méthodes élaborées avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La plupart d'entre eux estiment que la science et la technologie d'aujourd'hui sont assez avancées pour qu'il ne soit plus nécessaire de faire des essais sur les animaux. Le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis nous aidera à atteindre cet objectif.

Le débat entourant les tests sur les animaux ne date pas d'hier. Les parlementaires discutent de la façon de réglementer le traitement réservé aux animaux depuis bien avant la Confédération. L'une des premières lois expressément conçues pour réglementer la façon de traiter les animaux destinés à la recherche scientifique était la Cruelty to Animals Act, promulguée en 1876 au Royaume-Uni. Cette loi a été défendue par un homme célèbre, Charles Darwin, qui, dans une lettre, a écrit ceci : « Je conviens tout à fait que c'est justifiable quand il s'agit de recherches physiologiques véritables, mais non d'une simple curiosité [...] détestable. »

La Cruelty to Animals Act de 1876 a créé une infraction qui visait les chercheurs qui effectuaient des expériences qui ne respectaient pas le principe général selon lequel les expériences qui infligent de la douleur devraient être réalisées seulement lorsque : « [...] les expériences proposées sont absolument nécessaires pour que des personnes acquièrent les connaissances nécessaires [...] afin de sauver ou de prolonger la vie humaine [...]. »

Le bilan législatif du Canada en ce qui concerne les tests sur les animaux est plus complexe que dans d'autres pays. À l'échelle fédérale, il n'y a pas de dispositions claires concernant les tests sur les animaux au Canada, outre celles qui les autorisent conformément à la réglementation qui découle de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement. Cependant, un aspect de la question des tests sur les animaux, soit le bien-être des animaux, est couvert en partie par le Code criminel, qui considère comme une infraction le fait de « faire souffrir inutilement un animal », selon l'article 445.1, et de « causer une blessure ou une lésion à un animal par négligence volontaire », selon l'article 446. Dans le domaine scientifique, les protections garanties par ces articles sont limitées. Dans la décision Reece c. Edmonton (2011), le juge a fait les observations suivantes :

[...] il faut admettre que les dispositions qui encadrent le bien- être des animaux visent encore essentiellement à assurer un équilibre entre la douleur subie par les animaux et les besoins ainsi que les plaisirs des personnes. Cette approche se reflète dans un certain nombre de domaines, y compris le domaine économique [...], le domaine scientifique [...] et le domaine social [...]. La question de savoir s'il y a lieu de revoir cet équilibre entre des valeurs conflictuelles, et dans quelles circonstances cela doit être fait [...] relève principalement du pouvoir législatif.

Au Canada, toutes les provinces et les territoires ont des lois concernant le bien-être des animaux en général. Certaines de ces lois sont plus sévères que d'autres et traitent directement des travaux de recherche, comme à l'article 55.9.15 de la Loi sur la protection sanitaire des animaux du Québec et à l'article 2.1 de l'Animal Protection Act de la Nouvelle-Écosse. D'autres provinces ont des codes de conduite ou des normes qu'il faut respecter, comme l'Alberta, dont l'article 2 du règlement sur la protection des animaux renvoie à des documents du Conseil canadien de protection des animaux.

Les provinces du pays prennent des mesures afin de protéger les animaux. Il est temps que le gouvernement fédéral fasse preuve de leadership, en adoptant la Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté et en encourageant les provinces à renforcer leurs lois afin de prévenir la cruauté inutile envers les animaux.

Alors que le Canada a pris du retard dans ce dossier, nos alliés et partenaires commerciaux les plus proches, l'Union européenne, Israël, l'Inde, la Nouvelle-Zélande et la Turquie, ont pris des mesures en vue d'interdire complètement ou partiellement la vente et la commercialisation de produits testés sur des animaux. Le règlement de 2013 de l'Union européenne sur les cosmétiques et la directive antérieure sur les cosmétiques datant de 2003 sont perçus comme des modèles pour mettre un terme de manière responsable à la pratique des tests sur les animaux. À l'heure actuelle, l'interdiction de vente de l'Union européenne est en vigueur dans 28 pays, ce qui représente le plus important marché de produits de beauté au monde.

De nombreux pays sont en voie d'adopter une loi ou un règlement dont les dispositions s'apparentent à celles de la « loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté » proposée. Le Congrès des États-Unis étudie le projet de loi HR 2858, la « Humane Cosmetics Act », qui a été présentée en juin 2015 avec un appui des deux partis.

La « Humane Cosmetics Act » interdirait de tester des cosmétiques sur des animaux ainsi que de vendre ou de transporter aux États-Unis tout produit créé ou fabriqué en utilisant des tests sur des animaux.

Au Canada, heureusement, on nous dit que très peu de tests sont effectués sur des animaux. Il faut féliciter notre industrie cosmétique d'avoir pris des mesures pour éliminer cette pratique rétrograde. Des représentants de l'industrie cosmétique m'ont indiqué que notre industrie est résolue à éliminer les tests sur les animaux à mesure que des méthodes de rechange sont élaborées, validées et acceptées par Santé Canada.

En ce moment, plus de 99 p. 100 de toutes les évaluations d'innocuité des produits cosmétiques ou de leurs ingrédients sont effectuées sans test sur des animaux, car l'industrie canadienne a adopté d'autres méthodes de test pour évaluer l'irritation de la peau et des yeux, la pénétration et l'absorption dermique, la phototoxicité et la génotoxicité.

L'industrie canadienne des cosmétiques est, dans l'ensemble, très axée sur l'importation de produits plutôt que sur la fabrication. Les États-Unis sont notre principal partenaire commercial, mais nous importons de plus en plus de l'Union européenne. Compte tenu des restrictions en place dans l'Union européenne, l'accès au marché des produits ou ingrédients canadiens qui utilisent des substances testées sur des animaux est difficile. Si les États-Unis adoptent la « Humane Cosmetics Act », le Canada sera considérablement désavantagé et pourrait se retrouver dans la position peu souhaitable de centre pour les tests sur les animaux.

Honorables sénateurs, il est évident que l'industrie des cosmétiques à l'échelle mondiale évite de plus en plus les tests effectués sur les animaux. De nombreuses marques parmi les plus connues en Amérique du Nord ont réussi à commercialiser leurs produits sans recourir aux tests sur les animaux. Des marques comme LUSH, H&M, Paul Mitchell et Urban Decay ont adopté une position ferme en ce qui concerne les tests sur les animaux et soutiennent activement les efforts visant à enrayer cette pratique dans l'ensemble de l'industrie nord-américaine.

Lorsque l'Union européenne a mis en place son interdiction, cela a été largement perçu comme une occasion de faire preuve d'innovation et de mettre à jour les méthodes pour tester les produits. Les méthodes d'évaluation de l'innocuité fondées sur des essais biologiques cellulaires et l'expérimentation non animale sont moins coûteuses et plus rapides. Les entreprises qui continuent d'avoir recours aux tests sur les animaux risquent d'en subir les conséquences sur le plan économique, alors que les industries mondiales délaissent cette pratique désuète.

Le projet de loi se veut un premier pas vers l'amélioration du bien- être des animaux dans notre pays. La Loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté constitue le point de départ d'un débat parlementaire sur le traitement sans cruauté des animaux au XXIe siècle. En tant que fervente défenseure du bien-être des animaux, je suis profondément convaincue que ce projet de loi établit un équilibre entre protection des animaux contre des pratiques désuètes et protection de l'industrie canadienne contre des conditions indésirables du marché.

Honorables sénateurs, nous avons l'occasion de moderniser notre pays. Le temps est venu pour le gouvernement du Canada d'intervenir, de prendre des mesures pour interdire les tests sur les animaux et de faire entrer le Canada dans le XXIe siècle. C'est à notre tour de jouer un rôle de chef de file sur la scène mondiale relativement à ce dossier, qui a une dimension internationale et qui déterminera comment le Canada sera perçu dans les années à venir.

Chers collègues, je vous demande d'appuyer le projet de loi sur les cosmétiques sans cruauté et de vous unir à moi pour faire de 2016 l'année où le Canada prendra les premières mesures en vue de créer une économie sans cruauté.

Je vous remercie, honorables sénateurs.