This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

BILL C-37, CONTROLLED DRUGS AND SUBSTANCES (SECOND READING)

Honourable senators, I rise today to speak at second reading of Bill C-37, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act and to make related amendments to other Acts.

Bill C-37 does a number of things, but what I really want to focus on in this speech are the extraordinary exceptions afforded in the so-called supervised consumption sites.

I'm frankly surprised that a government which stood so strongly against omnibus bills while in opposition has crafted a bill like this. The legislation before us combines supportable law enforcement improvements with what I consider an unsupportable drastic policy shift on our strategy for fighting illegal drugs.

This bill makes it easier to open one of the injection sites by reducing the restrictions in the application process and abolishing some of the administrative obstacles placed in the way of these sites by the previous government.

Seemingly, the government's rationale for this policy shift is that they wish to help solve the opioid crisis that is ravaging communities.

A new laissez-faire drug strategy is being adopted by the government which prioritizes something called harm reduction in place of the old strategy, which emphasized prevention and enforcement. "Harm reduction" in this government's terminology means a focus on reducing the negative effects of drug use rather than spending resources fighting it. In plain terms, would you rather help an addict shoot up or spend those same resources to get the drugs off the streets?

Supervised consumption sites, also known as injection sites or injection rooms, are places where people can use their own illegally obtained drugs with the assistance of taxpayer-funded medical staff and taxpayer-funded clean equipment with reversal drugs available. Essentially, an off-the-street facility is provided where drug users consume their own drugs, street drugs, while medical staff supervise and assist.

Sites like these operated illegally in New York City in the 1980s and no doubt still do in some places to this day. The police refer to them as shooting galleries and have expended a lot of effort in shutting them down.

In Canada there is only one facility where this kind of service is available, legally at least, and I'm referring to Insite in Vancouver. Several other applications, however, are pending, including one here in Ottawa.

The current law in force is based on a piece of legislation passed in 2015 called the Respect for Communities Act. It followed a court ruling which forced the government to allow Insite to continue operating after the minister made it clear that the government of the day had no interest in facilitating drug abuse.

To open an injection site, now an organization must satisfy 26 criteria. In addition, there are other principles that the minister must satisfy when assessing a proposed injection site. These criteria are a real harm reduction strategy in that they help reduce the harm to communities, to schoolchildren and to the victims of drug abusers.

Health Canada cannot consider an application until all of these criteria have been satisfied, and when renewing the application, the facility has to check to ensure all the requirements are fulfilled.

The list of criteria was put into place to ensure the safety of communities where they would open. We should not forget that drugs are illegal and harmful to all.

The bill before us, Bill C-37, would change all of that by replacing the list of 26 criteria with five generic factors. These factors were taken directly from the court ruling that started the debate.

If this bill passes, all an injection site would need to address is the impact on crime rates, local conditions indicating need, available supports for the facility and comments from the community. It is very unclear how the crime rates would be assessed, which measures the government would require to demonstrate need or how comprehensive community consultations would be.

The application process proposed in this bill is less rigorous, and a minister can move forward on approving a facility even without the completed application package. This suggests to me that the site may now be approved because of political pressure imposed on the minister rather than an assessment of the impacts these places have or the wishes of the community.

Existing sites will not need to submit new applications for renewal, and the process of revalidating the criteria will become a simple information check in case something has changed. There will be no more assessments or reviews to ensure that these sites fulfill an apparent need or that they have not become a negative force in the community.

Senators, when we have such a drastic shift in policy like this before us, we must consider the public health implications for this and the effect it would have on public safety.

The government's responsibility to Canadians is twofold. Canadians must be protected from criminals, and they must be protected from harmful substances.

We need to re-evaluate Insite in B.C. to see if this kind of approach has had a meaningful impact or, rather, does it do everything that proponents promise it will?

Insite opened in 2003 with funding from British Columbia's provincial government. The site has 12 spots for clients to inject. The product which they use is not provided; it's purchased illegally by addicts and brought into the facility.

In 2006, the federal health minister established an expert committee to evaluate Insite. The findings, published in 2008, were uninspiring. It found that Insite claims to save a life every year that would otherwise be lost to an overdose. Annual overdose deaths in the area around Insite run up to about 50 a year. The minister's committee noted that this claim should be taken with a bit of caution, since it was based on a mathematical modelling rather than on a direct data source.

Part of the reason Insite opened was to try to get ahead of the HIV epidemic in the 1980s and 1990s. The 2008 report noted there was no evidence to suggest Insite had any impact on reducing the local HIV infection rate.

When commenting on the rate of drug-related crimes in the area, the committee did not note any change and went as far as noting a similar facility in Europe was closed because of drug- related loitering.

Most importantly, senators, the report found no evidence to suggest that Insite reduced drug use or general crime rates.

One of the arguments advanced to support injection sites is that they somehow reduce the rate of addicts shooting up in public. This claim is questionable for the simple reason that such sites could never accommodate the thousands of drug addicts in large urban areas, unless it is the government's intention to open a site on every corner.

And the research around these places does not consider the impacts other factors have on public drug use. The availability of a given drug, the presence of local police, the popularity of other methods of drug use, even the weather, are all factors which impact the usage of the sites.

One example from this kind of correlation can be seen in Australia. Sydney opened a supervised injection site in the 1990s which has been evaluated several times. In 2001, the site, known as Sydney Municipally Supervised Injection Centre, reported there was a downward trend in local thefts and robberies, but at the same time, separate data indicated there was also a so-called heroin drought in the city at the time of the study. Naturally, less drugs means less drug use. There was no definitive evidence to establish that this facility had reduced crime rates.

A government-funded evaluation noted that the overdose rates at the injection site were actually 36 times higher than those injecting on the streets. This is hardly surprising given that the facility enables what appears to be risk-free drug binging. The report noted that clients "may have taken more risks and used more heroin than in the [injection facility]."

When testifying before the New South Wales Legislative Council in July 2007, an ex-user of the facility noted:

[The clients] feel a lot more safer, definitely because they know they can be brought back to life straight away. . . . What users look for in heroin and pills is to get the most completely out of it as they can, like virtually be asleep but awake for four - five hours. For instance, to get that you have to test your limits. And by testing your limits that is how you end up dropping . . . .

Similar reasoning can be used to discount the claims that these sites increase public safety by reducing the amount of needles discarded in public. Most injections in Vancouver do not happen at Insite and in fact just couldn't. The numbers are simply not there.

The one unambiguous public health success Insite seems to have had was when the government used Insite as a vector for immunizing patients during an outbreak of pneumococcal pneumonia in 2006.

While medical studies have been generally supportive of Insite — it just sounds so good — studies appearing in The Lancet and the British Medical Journal, among others, leave room for some healthy skepticism.

The views of the community around Insite during the minister's evaluation were also interesting. While locals were somewhat supportive of Insite and not likely to associate it with crime, a considerable number of people did feel that, nevertheless, property crime and violent crime had gone up.

This is hardly surprising given that 80 per cent of the clients are criminals who have been to jail at some point, 51 per cent of whom use heroin on a daily basis and 38 per cent of which engage in some sort of sex work to fuel their habits.

The Canadian Police Association supported the regulatory structure imposed by the Respect for Communities Act. Tom Stamatakis, the association's president, noted at committee that supervised injection sites "lead to an increase in criminal behavior and disorder in the surrounding community and have a significant impact on police resources."

When Ottawa began deliberating the opening of an injection site in Sandy Hill, Senator White, a former local police chief, told the Ottawa Citizen there will be an increase in the amount of people using needles.

The current Chief of the Ottawa Police Service commented in January:

We remain concerned that locations will attract crime and disorder. As such, any location selected needs to have community support and an understanding of the realities and issues brought about by having a Supervised Consumption Site in your neighborhood.

These concerns are why legislation currently enforced requires so many conditions.

Returning to the criteria in force, the Respect for Communities Act, requires that an applicant demonstrate with specific data that these kinds of facilities have proven positive impacts on public health.

The act also required that the applicant research potential impacts a prospective facility would have on public safety, which would have to be supported by any information on the prevalence of drug use in the area and the local death rates from overdoses and other factors.

The consultation process established in the existing act is expansive. It requires applicants to talk to community groups, individuals, doctors, nurses and to seek written opinion from local health authorities, provincial governments and public safety agencies. It also protects drug users in that the staff are required to undergo screening and the equipment must be part of a process or procedure that ensures safe storage and use.

I do not support supervised injection sites. I believe they are a poor replacement for effective prevention of drug use and law enforcement. However, if the government must move forward with facilitating these sites, it is incumbent upon them to ensure they are necessary, safe and effective.

I do not see definitive evidence suggesting that these sites are any more effective than the strategy pursued by the previous government. Harm reduction means removing the poison that is afflicting our communities and not inviting it in.

I cannot vote for this bill, and I urge other senators to take a thorough look.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

PROJET DE LOI C-37, REGLEMENTANT CERTAINES DROGUES ET AUTRES SUBSTANCES (DEUXIEME LECTURE)

Honorables sénateurs, je prends la parole aujourd'hui à l'étape de la deuxième lecture du projet de loi C-37, loi modifiant la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances et apportant des modifications connexes à d'autres lois.

Le projet de loi C-37 fait plusieurs choses, mais ce sur quoi j'aimerais me concentrer dans mon discours, ce sont les exceptions extraordinaires prévues pour les centres de consommation supervisée.

Bien franchement, je suis surprise qu'un gouvernement qui s'opposait aussi fermement aux projets de loi omnibus lorsqu'il formait l'opposition ait rédigé un tel projet de loi. En effet, le projet de loi à l'étude combine des améliorations acceptables à l'application de la loi et ce que je considère un changement radical inacceptable de politique en ce qui a trait à notre stratégie de lutte contre les drogues illégales.

Le projet de loi facilite l'ouverture de centres d'injection supervisée en réduisant les restrictions dans le processus de demande et en abolissant certains des obstacles administratifs érigés contre ces centres par le gouvernement précédent.

Le gouvernement semble vouloir justifier ce changement de cap en évoquant sa volonté de mettre fin à la crise des opioïdes, laquelle fait des ravages au pays.

Le gouvernement adopte une nouvelle orientation, plus laxiste, en matière de lutte antidrogue. Contrairement à l'ancienne stratégie, qui préconisait la prévention et l'application de la loi, la nouvelle met l'accent sur une chose appelée « réduction des méfaits ». Cette terminologie du gouvernement indique qu'on préfère réduire les effets négatifs de la consommation de drogues plutôt que de consacrer des ressources à la combattre. En somme, on considère qu'il vaut mieux dépenser des ressources pour aider les toxicomanes à obtenir leur dose plutôt que de tenir les drogues à l'écart des rues.

Les centres de consommation supervisée, aussi appelés centres d'injection supervisée ou salles d'injection, sont des endroits où on peut consommer des drogues obtenues illégalement, où se trouvent du personnel médical, de l'équipement propre et des drogues antagonistes payés par les contribuables. Essentiellement, il s'agit d'une installation où l'on consomme des drogues de rue sous la supervision et avec l'aide d'une équipe médicale.

Durant les années 1980, la ville de New York comptait des centres comme ceux-là. On en trouve sans nul doute encore de nos jours à certains endroits. La police les appelle des piqueries et déploie beaucoup d'efforts pour les éliminer.

Au Canada, il n'existe qu'un seul endroit du genre où de tels services sont offerts — légalement, du moins. Je parle du centre Insite à Vancouver. Cependant, beaucoup de demandes sont en traitement pour l'ouverture de tels centres, dont un à Ottawa.

La législation en vigueur repose sur un projet de loi adopté en 2015, la Loi sur le respect des collectivités, présenté à la suite d'un arrêt qui a obligé le gouvernement à laisser Insite poursuivre ses activités, après que la ministre de la Santé avait fait clairement savoir qu'elle n'avait nullement l'intention d'encourager la toxicomanie.

Désormais, un organisme doit répondre à 26 critères pour être autorisé à ouvrir un centre d'injection. Le ministre doit en outre adhérer à certains principes lorsqu'il évalue une demande en ce sens. Ces critères constituent une véritable stratégie de réduction des méfaits, car ils contribuent à réduire les répercussions nuisibles des centres sur les collectivités, les écoliers et les victimes des toxicomanes.

Santé Canada ne peut évaluer une demande si elle ne satisfait pas à l'ensemble de ces critères. Au moment du renouvellement, le centre doit s'assurer que toutes les exigences sont respectées.

La liste de critères a été établie pour garantir la sécurité des collectivités où des centres souhaitent ouvrir leurs portes. Il ne faut pas oublier que les drogues sont illégales et néfastes pour tous.

Le projet de loi C-37 dont nous sommes saisis remplacerait la liste de 26 critères par 5 facteurs généraux. Ces facteurs ont été tirés directement de l'arrêt qui a lancé le débat.

Si ce projet de loi est adopté, les centres d'injection n'auraient qu'à se préoccuper de l'incidence d'un centre sur le taux de criminalité, des conditions locales indiquant que le centre répond à un besoin, des ressources de soutien en place et des commentaires de la communauté. On ignore comment les taux de criminalité seraient évalués, quels critères seraient exigés par le gouvernement pour démontrer le besoin ou quelle forme prendraient les consultations communautaires complètes.

Le processus de demande proposé dans le projet de loi est moins rigoureux, et un ministre peut approuver un centre avant même d'avoir reçu la trousse de demande dûment remplie. Je crains qu'un centre puisse alors être approuvé en raison de pressions politiques subies par le ministre plutôt qu'en fonction d'une évaluation des effets ou des souhaits d'une collectivité.

Les centres existants n'auront pas à présenter de nouvelles demandes pour obtenir un renouvellement, et la confirmation du respect des critères se résumera à une simple vérification de l'information au cas où la situation aurait changé. Il n'y aura pas d'autres évaluations ou d'autres examens pour s'assurer que les centres répondent à un besoin et qu'ils ne sont pas devenus un problème dans la collectivité.

Honorables sénateurs, lors de tels changements de politique, nous devons prendre en compte les implications sur la santé publique et l'incidence sur la sécurité publique.

La responsabilité du gouvernement envers les Canadiens comporte deux volets. Les Canadiens doivent être protégés des criminels et des substances nocives.

Nous devons réévaluer le centre Insite, en Colombie-Britannique, pour voir si ce genre d'approche a eu un effet significatif, ou plutôt, si le centre donne tous les résultats qu'avaient promis ses défenseurs.

Le centre Insite a ouvert en 2003 grâce à un financement du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. Le centre compte 12 postes d'injection. Le produit injecté n'est pas fourni. Il est acheté illégalement par le toxicomane, qui l'apporte au centre.

En 2006, le ministre fédéral de la Santé a créé un comité d'experts pour évaluer le centre Insite. Les résultats de l'étude, publiés en 2008, sont peu encourageants. Le rapport disait que, selon Insite, le centre permettait d'éviter un décès par surdose par année. Or, le nombre de décès par surdose dans le secteur où se trouve le centre voisine les 50 par année. Le comité du ministre mentionnait qu'il fallait interpréter prudemment cette allégation puisqu'elle était fondée sur une modélisation mathématique plutôt que sur une source directe de données.

Le centre Insite a été créé, notamment, pour contenir l'épidémie de VIH dans les années 1980 et 1990. Or, le rapport de 2008 mentionne que rien n'indiquait qu'Insite avait contribué à réduire le taux d'infection au VIH dans le secteur.

En ce qui a trait au nombre de crimes liés à la drogue dans le secteur, le comité n'a pas relevé de changement et est même allé jusqu'à dire qu'un établissement semblable en Europe a été fermé en raison du flânage associé à la drogue.

Surtout, sénateurs, le rapport signale qu'on n'a trouvé aucune preuve que le centre Insite a réduit la consommation de drogue ou la criminalité en général.

Pour légitimer les centres d'injection, on fait notamment valoir qu'ils réduisent la fréquence des injections en public. Cette affirmation est douteuse pour la simple et bonne raison que ces centres ne pourraient jamais répondre aux besoins des milliers de toxicomanes qui se trouvent dans les grandes régions urbaines, à moins que le gouvernement ait l'intention d'en ouvrir à tous les coins de rue.

De plus, les études qui ont été menées ne tiennent pas compte de l'effet de certains autres facteurs sur la consommation de drogue dans les rues. La facilité avec laquelle on peut se procurer une drogue donnée, la présence de policiers, la popularité d'autres méthodes de consommation, même le temps qu'il fait sont tous des facteurs qui influent sur la fréquentation de ces centres.

On a constaté un exemple de corrélation de ce genre en Australie. Le centre d'injection supervisée de Sydney, qui a été créé dans les années 1990, a été évalué plusieurs fois. Il a fait état, en 2001, d'une tendance à la baisse des vols et des cambriolages dans le quartier. Or, à la même période, d'autres données révélaient une pénurie d'héroïne dans la ville. Une pénurie de drogue entraîne nécessairement une baisse de la consommation. Rien ne permettait de conclure que la présence de ce centre avait réduit le taux de criminalité.

Selon une évaluation financée par l'État, le taux de surdose dans le centre d'injection était en fait 36 fois plus élevé que dans la rue. Ce n'est guère surprenant, car la présence d'un centre favorise la consommation excessive sans risque. Selon le rapport, « il se pourrait que certains usagers aient pris plus de risques et consommé plus d'héroïne que d'habitude [au centre d'injection] ».

Dans son témoignage devant le conseil législatif de New South Wales en juillet 2007, un ancien usager du centre dit ceci :

[Les clients] se sentent plus en sécurité parce qu'ils savent qu'on les réanimerait sur-le-champ. [...] Lorsqu'ils consomment de l'héroïne et des pilules, les toxicomanes cherchent à en tirer le maximum possible. Ils veulent pouvoir s'assoupir pendant quatre ou cinq heures, mais en restant éveillés. Or, pour obtenir une telle sensation, il faut tester ses limites et, en agissant ainsi, on risque de mourir.

On peut se servir des mêmes arguments pour réfuter l'allégation selon laquelle ces centres améliorent la santé publique en diminuant le nombre de seringues jetées dans des endroits publics. La plupart des injections à Vancouver ne se font pas à Insite. Cela serait impossible. Il ne possède tout simplement pas les capacités suffisantes.

La seule fois qu'Insite semble avoir remporté un succès sans équivoque, c'est quand le gouvernement a recouru à ses services pour immuniser des patients durant une épidémie de pneumonie à pneumocoque en 2006.

Même si les études médicales ont été généralement favorable à Insite — un tel centre fait si bonne impression —, des études publiées dans The Lancet et le British Medical Journal, entre autres, laissent place à une bonne dose de scepticisme.

Les opinions des membres de la collectivité sur Insite durant l'évaluation ordonnée par le ministre de la Santé de l'époque étaient aussi intéressantes. En effet, même si les habitants du coin étaient plutôt en faveur d'Insite et qu'ils n'étaient pas susceptibles de l'associer à la criminalité, beaucoup de personnes étaient d'avis que le nombre de crimes contre les biens et de crimes violents avait augmenté.

Ce n'est guère surprenant étant donné que 80 p. 100 des patients utilisant ce centre sont des criminels qui ont déjà été incarcérés, que 51 p. 100 d'entre eux consomment quotidiennement de l'héroïne et que 38 p. 100 s'adonnent à une certaine forme de commerce sexuel pour payer leurs doses.

L'Association canadienne des policiers s'est prononcée en faveur de la structure réglementaire imposée par la Loi sur le respect des collectivités. Le président de l'association, Tom Stamatakis, a déclaré au comité que les centres d'injection supervisée « entraînent une augmentation du comportement et de l'agitation de nature criminelle à proximité des sites et que ces derniers ont une incidence considérable sur les ressources policières ».

Quand Ottawa a commencé à jongler avec l'idée d'ouvrir un centre d'injection dans le quartier Côte-de-Sable, le sénateur White, qui a déjà été à la tête du service de police de la ville, a déclaré à l'Ottawa Citizen qu'il y aurait plus de gens qui utilisent des seringues.

Le chef actuel du Service de police de la Ville d'Ottawa a déclaré ce qui suit en janvier :

Nous craignons toujours que ces centres ne favorisent la criminalité et le désordre. En fait, l'emplacement retenu devra avoir l'appui de la population. Les gens doivent connaître les conséquences qu'il y a à avoir un centre d'injection supervisée dans leur quartier.

C'est à cause de ces craintes que la loi actuelle comporte autant de conditions.

La Loi sur le respect des collectivités exige des demandeurs qu'ils prouvent, données à l'appui, que les établissements de ce genre ont bel et bien une incidence positive sur la santé publique.

Elle les oblige aussi à analyser les effets du futur centre sur la sécurité publique et à étayer leurs dires par des données sur la prévalence de la toxicomanie et le taux de mortalité par surdose dans le secteur, pour donner seulement deux exemples.

Le processus de consultation prévu dans la loi actuelle est très rigoureux. Les demandeurs doivent s'adresser aux groupes communautaires, aux médecins et aux infirmières et obtenir, par écrit, l'opinion des autorités sanitaires locales, du gouvernement de la province et des forces de l'ordre. La loi protège aussi les toxicomanes, puisqu'elle exige que les employés des centres d'injection supervisée fassent l'objet d'une vérification et prévoit tout un processus pour le stockage et l'utilisation de l'équipement.

Je suis contre les centres d'injection supervisée. Selon moi, ils ne remplaceront jamais de bonnes mesures de prévention de la toxicomanie et d'application de la loi. Cela dit, si le gouvernement n'a d'autre choix que de les approuver, qu'il fasse tout en son pouvoir pour qu'ils soient efficaces et ne présentent aucun danger pour la population environnante.

Rien, à mes yeux, ne prouve que ces centres soient plus efficaces que la stratégie privilégiée par l'ancien gouvernement. Pour réduire les méfaits, il faut supprimer le poison qui afflige la société, pas lui faire une plus grande place.

Je ne peux appuyer ce projet de loi et je demande aux sénateurs de bien y réfléchir.