This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

HUMAN RIGHTS IN IRAN: SHABNAM MADADZADEH

Honourable senators, on February 19, 2009, Shabnam Madadzadeh, a 24-year-old Iranian student, was arrested on her way to school. I want honourable senators to imagine for a moment how they would feel as parents if that happened to their child.

Shabnam was arrested for supposedly attending a party the night before that she says she did not attend. She was imprisoned for a year, during which time she was subjected to untold abuse and months of solitary confinement. Finally she was sentenced to five years in prison for heresy and anti-government activities. Shabnam is being held in the infamous Evin House of Detention, referred to as the country's Bastille.

Heartbreakingly, in April 2009, the Iranian courts issued an agreement to release Shabnam on bail, but an Iranian judge personally blocked her freedom, saying that he needed to discipline her. People are routinely tortured and killed in this prison. I want honourable senators to remember our Canadian journalist, Zahra Kazemi, who died of blunt trauma after being arrested for taking pictures in front of the prison. In other words, she was beaten to death. An autopsy revealed signs of extreme torture.

Honourable senators, as a member of the Senate of Canada, I condemn the Iranian regime's deplorable abuse of human rights and call for Shabnam Madadzadeh's immediate release.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

LE DROITS DE LA PERSONNE EN IRAN: SHABNAM MADADZADEH

Honorables sénateurs, le 19 février 2009, Shabnam Madadzadeh, une étudiante iranienne de 24 ans, a été arrêtée alors qu'elle se rendait à l'école. Je demande à mes collègues sénateurs de s'imaginer un moment comment ils se sentiraient si pareille chose arrivait à leur enfant.

Shabnam a prétendument été arrêtée pour avoir participé la veille à une fête à laquelle elle affirme ne pas être allée. La jeune femme a été emprisonnée pendant un an. Au cours de cette période de détention, elle a été soumise à de mauvais traitements indicibles et à des mois d'isolement cellulaire. Elle a finalement été condamnée à cinq ans d'emprisonnement pour hérésie et activités antigouvernementales. Shabnam est actuellement détenue dans la tristement célèbre prison d'Evin, surnommée la Bastille de l'Iran.

Le pire, c'est que, en avril 2009, les tribunaux iraniens ont accepté de libérer Shabnam sous caution, mais un juge est personnellement intervenu pour empêcher sa libération, affirmant qu'il fallait la mater. Les détenus à la prison d'Evin sont régulièrement torturés et tués. Je rappelle à la mémoire des sénateurs la journaliste canadienne Zahra Kazemi, qui est morte à la suite d'un traumatisme contondant, après avoir été arrêtée pour avoir pris des photos en face de ladite prison. Autrement dit, Mme Kazemi a été battue à mort. Une autopsie a révélé des signes de torture extrême.

Honorables sénateurs, à titre de membre du Sénat du Canada, je condamne les déplorables violations des droits de la personne commises par le régime iranien et je réclame la libération immédiate de Shabnam Madadzadeh.